Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Bats at the Beach
Written and illustrated by Brian Lies
Most appreciated by Pre- K through 3rd Grade

The moon is coming up. The stars are begining to shine. That means it's time for bats to go to the beach! All the things people do at the beach are thing bats like to do, too, like building sand castles, having campfires and roasting marshmallows. And take a look at those marshmallows - yummy (if you're a bat)! This book is loads of fun for this time of the year. So when the sun goes down, grab this book and keep an eye out for bats!

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

New Pet Care Series in the Library!

Just added today! A new series of six books that talk about to to take care of your pet! Many of you have asked for books on how to take care of a dog or cat. These books cover all kinds of pets, from fish to birds to horses. Each book helps you decide what kind of animal you want, how to feed it, keep it healthy, and take good care of it. Stop in and check one of these books out!

Monday, October 29, 2007

The Aurora County All Stars

by Deborah Wiles
Coming to Zion's library shelves soon!

House Jackson lives for baseball. Well, he did until last summer when his elbow was broken by none other than Frances Shotz. Since then, he's spent hours reading to Mr. Norwood Boyd, a old recluse who has shut himself in his house for years. This summer will be different, though. The Aurora County All-Stars play one baseball game each year on the 4th of July. And this year, House is ready to play. But when Frances Shotz arrives back in town to direct the county anniversary pageant, House's longed-for game is in jeopardy. Every ball player has been volunteered by their mama to participate in the pageant which takes place at the same time as the ball game. Somehow, House must find a way to play ball and let his team join the pageant. Fans of 'Love Ruby Lavender' and "Each Little Bird That Sings" will enjoy this new story about Aurora County. There's a bit of mystery surrounding Old Man Boyd, a touch of discrimination involving Frances' grandfather, and plenty of humor to round out the story.

Sunday, October 14, 2007

A Warm Zion Welcome

Welcome to Zion's library blog. Here's where you'll find out what we have in our library collection, fun events coming up in the library, and information about our junior high book discusison groups. Keep checking back during the week to see what new book reviews have been added!